How Do I Help a Child Being Abused?

Kentucky is a MANDATORY REPORTING state. This means EVERYONE is mandated by law to call to report abuse. You are NOT required to provide proof. Anyone who makes a good faith report based on reasonable grounds is immune from prosecution. If the abuse occurred within the past 72 hours, make that information clear to the person taking the report.

If a child is in immediate danger, call the police at 9-1-1.

Kentucky Child Abuse Hotline
1-877-597-2331
1-877-KYSAFE1

Toll-free, centralized intake for entire state. Open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

Indiana Child Abuse Hotline
1-800-800-5556

Toll-free, centralized intake for entire state. Open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

National Child Abuse Hotline
1-800-422-4453

The toll-free Childhelp Hotline is dedicated to the prevention of child abuse. Serving the United States, its territories, and Canada, the Hotline is staffed 24 hours a day, 7 days a week with professional crisis counselors who, through interpreters, can provide assistance in 170 languages. The hotline offers crisis intervention, information, literature, and referrals to thousands of emergency, social service, and support resources. All calls are confidential.

National CyberTip Line
1-800-843-5678
www.cybertipline.com